The World Federation of Science Journalists (WFSJ) was founded in November 2002 at the 3rd World Conference of Science Journalists in São José dos Campos, Brazil, where Canadian science writer and broadcaster Véronique Morin was elected its first president. At the 4th World Conference in Montréal, in October 2004, more than 600 participants from 58 nations attended, as well as representatives from 30 science journalism associations worldwide, and Australian science journalist and magazine editor Wilson da Silva was elected the Federation’s second president.

On 18th April 2007, during the 5th World Conference of Science Journalists held in Melbourne (Australia), BBC science journalist Pallab Ghosh became President. On 1st July 2009, Ms. Nadia El-Awady from Egypt was elected as the fourth president during the 6th World Conference held in London (United Kingdom).

The current President, Mr. Curtis Brainard, was confirmed as president in June 2015 during the 9th World Conference of Science Journalists in Seoul, South-Korea.

The Federation is governed by a seven-member international board with representation from Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.

You will find here an article from 2012 on the Federation’s 10th anniversary. The article takes you back in time and tells a detailed story on how the WFSJ was started.