A brief history of the WFSJ

The WFSJ was founded in November 2002 at the 3rd World Conference of Science Journalists in São José dos Campos (Brazil) where Canadian science writer and broadcaster Véronique Morin was elected the first president.

In October 2004, more than 600 participants from 58 nations attended the 4th World Conference in Montreal (Canada), as well as representatives from 30 science journalism associations worldwide. Australian science journalist and magazine editor Wilson da Silva was elected the WFSJ’s second president.

On 18 April 2007, during the 5th World Conference of Science Journalists held in Melbourne (Australia), BBC science journalist Pallab Ghosh became the third president.

In July 2009, Nadia El-Awady from Egypt was elected as the fourth president during the 6th World Conference held in London (United Kingdom).

Curtis Brainard was confirmed as president in June 2015 during the 9th World Conference of Science Journalists in Seoul (Republic of Korea).

Mohammed Yahia was elected at the 10th World Conference (WCSJ2017) in San Francisco (USA) and was in office for two years.

The current president, Milica Momčilović, was elected at the 11th World Conference (WCSJ2019) in Lausanne (Switzerland)


The WFSJ is governed by a nine-member international body with representation from Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Meet the Board members here.