The WFSJ is pleased to announce that two journalists are invited to attend the Award Ceremony of the 2020 Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize, as well as related events to take place in Bergen and Oslo (Norway), from 2 to 5 June 2020. The two recipients of the grants will be guests of the Holberg Prize and the University of Bergen and will be invited to all the events, including the Award Ceremony and the Government Banquet on 4 June 2020.

The grants cover travel expenses, hotel accommodation, and meals. An interview with the Holberg Laureate and/or the Nils Klim Laureate may be arranged if requested. The recipients will be selected by the WFSJ (see application information below).

The Holberg Prize is awarded annually to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The Prize is worth NOK 6 million (approx. US$ 660,000).

The Nils Klim Prize is awarded annually to a researcher under the age of 35, from a Nordic country, who has made an outstanding contribution to research in the fields covered by the Holberg Prize. The Prize is worth NOK 500,000 (approx. EUR 50,000).

On 5 March, the 2020 Holberg Prize was awarded to British-Canadian scholar Griselda Pollock for her contributions to feminist art history and cultural studies. The Nils Klim Prize was awarded to Danish theologian Frederik Poulsen for his research on The Old Testament.

The Holberg Prize and the Nils Klim Prize will both be officially awarded during a ceremony in the University Aula in Bergen on 4 June 2020.

Visit the Holberg Prize website for more information on the Prizes, the Laureates, and the Holberg Week events.

The press scholarships

The Holberg Prize will cover travel and accommodation expenses, as well as meals.

The journalists will be invited to attend the Holberg Prize and Nils Klim Prize Award Ceremony, and the Government Banquet, on 4 June, as well as all other events during the Holberg Week.

An interview with the Holberg Laureate or the Nils Klim Laureate, respectively, and/or other prominent speakers at the academic events may be arranged.

Application deadline

Applications must be received no later than Monday, 30 March 2020.


All journalists may apply. It is preferable that the applicant has experience in covering issues related to one or more of the academic fields covered by the Holberg Prize.

Selection committee and decision

The WFSJ administers the scholarship and is responsible for selecting the grant recipients. The WFSJ will select the two journalists on the basis of their letters of application and documented experience.

How to apply

Should you wish to apply for one of the scholarships, please send an email headed “WFSJ/Holberg Prize Press Scholarship” to cbourillon@wfsj.or, no later than Monday, 30 March 2020, with the following:

1. A copy of your CV.

2. A brief letter highlighting your interest in attending the Holberg Prize events and ceremony.

Your application should include your name, media, country, the name of your national member association (if applicable), your email address, and your mobile telephone number.

Applications will be reviewed between 31 March and 17 April 2020 by a committee with representatives from the WFSJ Office.

Recommended Posts